Naruto and Shinto references and cultural references. Part 1.

This is going to be the first post on shinto and general culture references in Naruto manga. That is if I will find time to make another posts on the subject, because it takes some time to gather up the information. I am not going to pretend that I am an expert in the matter. But at the same time I am not going beyond pointing out some interesting facts, i.e. I am not going to make assumptions and draw conclusions. So that should be ok, I will show you stuff, you will think for yourself.

I assume that all my readers know that Amaterasu, Tsukuyomi, Susanoo and Izanagi are Shinto gods, so I won’t mention this. I will try to find less obvious things.

In this post I am going to take some scenes from the resent chapters and see what you will think of it. Here we start.

Naruto Chapter 621 Mokuton Mokujin No Jutsu and Fujin

Mokuton Mokujin No Jutsu by Hashirama and Fujin, Shinto God of Wind

A statue of Fujin

A statue of Fujin

 If you want to read more about Fujin, check out Wikipedia article, here – Fujin. He is the son of  Izanami, another Shinto god.

Naruto Chapter 621 Orochimaru's kabuki mask

This is the mask that Orochimaru put on to summon the shinigami. And that is a kabuki mask for Noh play, from what I could find

Naruto Chapter 621 Hashirama's kabuki Face Paint

Kabuki Face Paint. The idea was suggested by a member of iNaruto community.

If you what to learn more about kabuki theater, here is the Wikipedia article: Kabuki.

Naruto Chapter 621 Shinigami, Noh

This is the death reaper, the shinigami from Naruto series. And in the right there is something, that you can find typing Adachi-ga-hara in the searching engine.

Noh

“Demoness wearing hannya mask in Adachigahara”. Just copied the description.

If you want to learn more about what you have seen in the picture above, I suggest you to read about Japanese drama Noh.

I hope it was interesting. It certainly was interesting to me to research that. Hope I will make more such posts. See you (^_^)/

My other posts on Naruto: ALL MY NARUTO POSTS. My latest posts on Naruto: Naruto, chapter 621Naruto Shippuden, episode 300.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter @Sindarfrom.

One thought on “Naruto and Shinto references and cultural references. Part 1.

Leave a Reply

