Death Note, episode 33, I just want to say it.

I just want to say that it was the first time they used a cheap trick to stitch up the plot. I am talking about that moment when Near was looking through the videos with Kiyomi Takada and suddenly found out that Teru Mikami is the X Kira, as Near named him. That was so unrealistic that I felt that I have to point that out.

Death Note Episode Near

Really?.. -.-

There is a lot of other unrealistic stuff about Near. I know that a detective in this show has to have some obsessive hobby. But when L was eating sweats all the time it was ok. In fact sweats do help your thinking process, so, why not. But this boy is playing with toys. That is just so off. The whole point of playing with toys is to immerge into a fantasy world. Try to play with a toy while thinking about your schedule for the next week. You will see that it doesn’t go well together. In fact, if you are a grown up person, playing with toys is kind of hard, because your attention is attracted by the real world. And if you are not a grown up person, I don’t see how you can be of any help in a real investigation. Let’s be honest, investigation is not a chess play, you need to have a lot of knowledge about the world to do that sort of thing. How can a kid that spend all his time playing be of any use there?

Ok, ranting is done. I am still planning on writing a post about detectives in the Death Note and my reaction on the series in general. Hopefully I’ll do it soon. See you then (^_^)/

My other posts on Death Note: 

Here is the list of all my posts on Death Note.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

16 thoughts on “Death Note, episode 33, I just want to say it.

  1. This coming from someone who likes Near, I think you haven’t really put much thought into why he uses toys. In how to read, Near has a 10/10 on creativity. The toys and the stacking is his way of conveying his message to the world, like how he makes a model of each character in the Kira case and uses it to explain the links between them. But it also goes deeper than that, the amount of effort he puts into each of them shows his feelings towards each person, such as how he likes Mello. He has trouble expressing himself because of his lack of social skills, experience and his sensitivity.
    Near looks young, but he’s 18. He doesn’t have experience, but he has an amazing ability to stay calm and composed that even the original writers have admitted is “above that of L’s”. He has an ability to deduce and an extremely high intelligence. That is why he is of use, even though it may seem “spends all his time playing”, it simply what he does while thinking. Such as L stacked sugar cubes, Near stacks dice and lego.

    • What I meant was that he should have been thinking about the case instead of playing. And if it is nessesary for him to play, he should not have been able to solve the case, just because when you are playing, toys get your attention, and you can’t think as clear when you play with them. But as the writers put it, he can do both, which makes him unrealistic.

      About the lack of social skills, I believe that someone with that amazingly high intellegence can solve such problem in no time. It is not that hard to learn to communicate with people, much easier than hunting down Kira.

      But don’t get me wriong, I am not saying that he is a bad character =) It is fiction, and so it is ok for the characters to have unrealistic features. It is just that I, personally, like characters to be realistic. Sorry if I offended you by going against one of your fav characters.

  2. Yeah. I thought it was a cheap trick too. Near was just watching the video and suddenly it was obvious to him that Mikami was x-kira. That was pretty unrealistic.

    Personally, I don’t think playing with toys effects your thinking. Once I was just thinking about something and there happened to be a Rubik’s cube next to me. I started solving it absentmindedly. After I solved it, it suddenly struck me that I didn’t even pay attention to the Rubik’s cube. I didn’t even realize that I was solving it. I was deep in thought. I managed to solve it and finish whatever I was thinking about. This action surprised me. So playing with something while you are trying to think doesn’t necessarily ruin your thinking process.

    • Glad to see you on-line again =)

      Yes,if you don’t pay attention to your toy then sure, it won’t interfere with your thinking. In fact many people need something in their hands to concentrate. Like pen or something. But you can’t say that Near doesn’t pay attention to his toys. That means that he thinks about them, when he plays, or so I assume =)

      And you need to get 4x4x4 Rubik’s cube, since normal one poses so small challenge to you :P

      • I’ve been reanimated. Thanks ^_^

        I couldn’t say that I wasn’t paying attention to it. I wouldn’t be able to solve it without paying attention even if I was not aware of it. Though I see your point of view, I can’t say for sure that Near is not being real.I have tried to do some planning when I was playing with my cousins. It isn’t that hard. But oh well.

        Yup. I got 4x4x4 and 5x5x5 Rubik’s cubes :P

  3. Yeah i’ve just finished watching it and that ia the first thing that
    pop up in my minde , it was a cheap one …..but i think eventuly
    he would have caught him …
    because if he reviewed mikami profile he would have suspect him instantly because of his mother’s accident plus he has the same justice thinking such as light so it was a matter of time ………plus i think if it wasn’t for mello’s and near teaming up they would and “”””””””mikami’s idiot mistakes “”””””
    light would have one because if we switch mikami with missa she woyld have done exactly as light said and they all died
    in addition a want to point out that near and mello couldn’t caught him if they didn’t continue L’s work …..because L suspected in light first why near shouldn’t if he is following his trail…..

  4. Sorry about the first comment i was typing very fast Yeah i’ve just finished watching it and that ia the first thing that
    pop up in my minde , it was a cheap one …..but i think eventuly
    he would have caught him …
    because if he reviewed mikami profile he would have suspect him instantly because of his mother’s accident plus he has the same justice thinking such as light so it was a matter of time ………plus i think if it wasn’t for mello’s and near teaming up. and
    “”””””””mikami’s idiot mistakes “”””””
    light would have won because if we switch mikami with missa she woyld have done exactly as light said and they all died
    in addition a want to point out that near and mello couldn’t caught him if they didn’t continue L’s work …..because L suspected in light first why near shouldn’t if he is following his trail…..

  5. ALSO I WANT TO POINT OUT MAYBE NEAR SAW HER STANDING AND LOOKING AT MIKAMI SO AS WE SEE IN THE PICTURE AND IF “L “HAS ABILITY TO TROUGHT PEOPLE’ TOUGHT THEN MAYBE NEAR HAS ABILITY TO HAVE A FAST REACTION WHEN IT COMES TO BE SUSPICIOUS

    • That would be a supernatural power :D The main problem I have with Near is that he is not real. So him being able to instantly suspect people on no basis would not help me at all =)

Leave a Reply

