Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan), episode 6. Spoilers.

As much as we all want to know what happened with Eren, this episode did not tell us anything about it. But instead we saw a  flashback of Mikasa’s childhood.

So Mikasa is not Eren’s sister. She had her own family. But her father and mother were murdered by a gang of bandits who wanted to sell her mother as a slave. That is enough to crash a person. Mikasa withstood somehow, though her whole personality changed completely. I guess Eren was the reason she was able to get through it. If it wasn’t for him she might have snapped back then.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6 Eren saves Mikasa

I must say I never imagine that Eren was so brave as a child. His actions were so accurate, that is amazing.

He literary helped her change. The moment she took the knife and saw that she had to charge to save Eren she changed from a pray to a hunter. I don’t know how to put it better. And I don’t even mean the mental change. Look at it:

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6 Mikasa

I feel that they use green lights to indicate it when something unnatural happening. There were those out of place green lights there when the big titan appeared too. I don’t know.

Ever since Mikasa was physically superior to everyone. She was able to beat bullies how attacked Armin, she is the best soldier we know, all that stuff. I think that is one of the things about this world that we don’t yet know about. A human can draw strength hidden inside him, if he learns who. I might be wrong, though.

I must say, Mikasa’s story was very sad. But just as sad were the scenes with Armin.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6 Armin

His voice actor did a great job conveying his emotions.

Still, thinking about it, you remember Armin said that this whole world is hell? Remember who he was thinking about how helpless he was all his life. I understand how humiliating it must be, but still, compare that to what Mikasa went through and it would not seem as that dark. And Mikasa do not collapse. I just want to point out how different the characters are in this show.  Though Mikasa will have a chance to collapse once she learns about what happened to Eren. I wonder if she will be able to stand that. I am afraid that this might be too much even for her.

Now, to change the topic, it seem that the creator of the show (or manga, if you will) want to point out how rotten the society is.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6

I am talking about this scene.

Point is, they don’t do a very good job. First of all, this gigantic mob of people should have torn that stupid merchant to pieces. That is what would have happened in the real life. Second, how can a man who was smart enough to accumulate a fortune be so stupid as to try to pull forward a cart that is not going to fit through? He could have taken some of the cargo from it and then made someone carry it for him on their backs, or something of the sort. It would have been much faster. But well, all that they were really going for was to irritate the audience only to give Mikasa the chance to fix it in a very cool manner. It works, I have no complaints =)

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6 Mikasa being cool

Well said. Not that I agree with the idea, but it put that crazy merchant back on earth

Last, I want to mention that everyone seem to like the opening theme for the series. Listen to the ending theme too! It is really beautiful.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on titan), episode 6 Mikasa

I like both the art and the music. And together they make it into the best closing theme I saw from this year anime.

In the next episode we are going to see what will Mikasa do when she learns about Eren’s death. And I hope we will know about the Eren’s fate a little more. Till then, see you (^_^)/

P.S. No manga spoilers in the comments, please. Let’s be nice to each other.

My recent posts on Shingeki no Kyojin:

All my posts on Shingeki no Kyojin – here.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter @Sindarfrom.

Leave a Reply

