JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, episodes 1 and 2

Another old anime here. It is not too old being made in 2000, but it somewhat inherited the style of the anime from the 90s. There are all the necessary elements here: manly men, needless violence, questionable plot, bad English dub.

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure episode 2

Here is how the animation looks like. As you can see all the men look as if they just out of  a gym

Unlike other old anime I have reviewed, this one is not only centered around men, but it also gives you a feeling that the people who worked on it didn’t want to deal with female characters at all. All the major characters are guys. There one female character in the beginning, the protagonist’s mom, but even she got ill and was taken out of the picture. Maybe the mangaka didn’t like to draw girls or something O.o

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure episode 2 girls

The protagonist’s classmates are all gasping and shocked. That is all they do.

The second thing that I want to mention is the dub. It is not really bad, but I would put it on the same category as the dub for Riding Bean, maybe slightly above. Your ears will not bleed, but if you are used to the modern English dubs, you may feel uncomfortable.

Now about what is good or just interesting about this show. First, before I watched it I thought that Chad from Bleach was the most grown-up looking hight school student in anime. Well, now I know about Jojo. Look at him:

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure episode 2

He is 17.
Yeah, 17 my foot.

And look at him and his classmates:

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure episode 2 Jojo and his classmates

He could have been their father, judging by the looks

I think I have to put it there. If you are a young kid, you probably better wait a little before you watch this. There are sexual themes and graphic violence in the show.

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure episode 2

That is not even close to the graphic violence I was talking about. I just don’t want to post pictures of a ripped off heads here.

I will watch the rest of the season (by the way, I assume that I am watching JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure 2000, I hope I am right; I wanted to watch the older version made in 1993, but I could not find it). If anything interesting happens I will write about it. See you (^_^)/

My other posts about JoJo – list.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

Leave a Reply

