Mobile Suit Gundam: 0079, episode 1.

As I promised in my last “take a peek” update, the next series I am going to watch first few episodes of is Mobile Suit Gundam. If you into Gundam, you know how many anime there are. I decided to go from the start, and so what I am watching is a series made in 1979.

It is a very old anime, the oldest I’ve seen (I think; it is the oldest in my MAL list right now, that much I can say). And it shows, that is for sure. The art style, the quality of the effects (blasts and such), the motion, all that looks really different from what we are used to now.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episode 1

Look at this screenshot. That girl, from what I understand, is the female lead. Or, maybe not. This anime is complicated.

All that said, I personally have nothing against this type of animation. If anything, it makes me take the anime less seriously, which is a good thing. Because if I start to take a mecha show seriously, I will have a lot to say about it. For example, about robots having a dashboard with arrow sensors. I have nothing against those sensors, but the level of technology that they represent is so far below the minimum that is needed to produce a robot. Also, those light sabers, and the ability to fly, all that so unrealistic. But well, this is anime, and I have no problem with sci-fi, which obviously is a fiction and don’t have to be realistic.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episode 1 robot

Mobile suit – the robot I was talking about

For those who have not watched this show, I am sorry, my reaction is probably incomprehensible. Well, here is a brief summary of the episode: The place where the main character (Amuro Ray, that was his name, right?) lives was attacked, the attackers wanted to destroy the new  mobile suit that you can see on the picture above. But Amuro gets into the suit and beats the bad guys.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episode 1 Amuro Ray

That is the main character I am talking about.

I want to mention that I am watching this anime in English Dub. I can’t say that the acting is bad. If anything, dub for the JoJo Bisarre Adventure 2000 series seems to be less polished.

The plot seems good enough to me. This is an anime for kids, rather than for adults, but it is not stupid or something like that. It is just simple. And I have watched only one episode, so I don’t really know. I liked the first episode, that, at least I can say.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episode 1 animation

And look again at how this show looks. I used to watch such cartoons when I was a kid ^_^

Next episode is going to show us what this mobile suit really can do. Looking forward to this. And so, see you next time (^_^)/

Here is what all this thing is about: “Take a peek”. New series here.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr.

Leave a Reply

