JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure (1993), first two episodes

I watched the first two episodes of the original JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure series. This anime was made in 1993 and, as of you probably know, this is a continuation of the story told in the JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure (2000), which was made in 2000. So first I watched well animated Jojo 2000 anime and now I went on to anime from 1993 (just want to make it clear, I as myself got really confused).

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure 1993 episode 2

Some weird looking mask that is probably important

This anime starts off with a scene of beheading of a woman. That was probably put there instead of disclaimer, to show the parents that they probably want to keep their elementary schoolers away from this show for a while. On the whole this show is just as violent as the 2000 series, though.

Characters look the almost the same as in 2000 series (which is not surprising, considering both are based on the same manga). The action and the story, all that has the same feel. Even so that the animation is older, it is decent and won’t make you itch or something. It is apparent that when they were making this show they didn’t know how to portray certain scenes in the best way, but I am talking about a few specific scenes, while on the whole there aren’t many problems.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure 1993 episode 1

Also, they seem to be taking the idea of panel-to-panel animation on a whole new level

The only thing that is making me worried is the pacing of the story. I watched 2 episodes out of total 6 that this show have and so far they were able to defeat one insignificant guy and that was it. I am afraid that they will have to rush things or that they will not cover the whole story of the war against Dio. I know that they will get to fighting Dio in this show (spoilers, yeah), but I wonder if they will be able to defeat him in time.

I will watch the rest of this show some time soon. Don’t know how soon, but whatever. I will write a reaction post on it then. Till then, see you (^_^)/

My other posts about JoJo – list.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

Leave a Reply

