“Take a peek” update. Mobile Suit Gundam: 0079 is done, next is D.Gray-man

I watched the first three episodes of Mobile Suit Gundam: 0079. So far it is interesting and I would have gone on watching the show if I hadn’t decided to keep it as short as possible.

I will try out a new format for this post. I don’t think the format needs to be explained, just read on and see.

Story. The show has some plot, though it is concentrated on action more than on the story development. It tries to talk about things like war, fear, being an individual in the military force. But if you want just that you would be better off watching Full Metal Alchemist. Gundam is more about robots that about psychology.

Pacing. I certainly don’t know the whole plot, but so far it seems that each episode contains one individual story that is connected to the plot, but can be enjoyed as a separate piece. That means that there aren’t much cliff hungers. Though you better not take my word for it.

Animation. The animation for this show is definitely very old and it might be frightening for the new fans. Still, it doesn’t turn it into a comedy or make it unwatchable. And if you are a mecha fan you may actually like this style. There are a lot of well drawn background pictures with technical objects in it and sometimes they look really well.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 episode 3 animation

Characters. Can’t say anything about the characters yet. By now the main character’s (Amaro) acting isn’t really great. They want him to be a “normal teen” who got mixed in a war and experiences the horror. And one step at a time he learns how to deal with it. Not a bad idea, and it promises some character development. But I wouldn’t say that the characters excite me too much.

Character designs. I am not a big fan of this style, but it does not offend me either.

Music and sound effects. That part is really good. I love those old sound effects and the way they used to do background music.

Opening and ending. I heard only one opening and ending, don’t know if there are more than one of each. The opening is catchy and it is funny how they sing “gandamu”, stressing different syllables each time. The ending I don’t remember, even though I watched the show half an hour ago.

Action. Good enough for such an old show. If you count the screen time that fighting takes, this show may beat your modern shonen jump shows. But the action itself is not speedy or flashy.

Final thoughts. I will watch this anime one day. Not before I watch Inuyasha, or, let’s say, Guren Lagan, but I will get to it. If you are a fan of Gundam and you feel offended, I am sorry, and I can totally see why you like this show. It is not bad and it is worth watching. This anime was made in 1879 and it is still better than most of what I saw scheduled for the summer season 2013.

Next time I am going to check out some episodes of D.Gray-man. Here is my “Take a peek” list:

  • InuYasha (done)
  • Mobile Suit Gundam (done)
  • D.Gray-man
  • One Piece
  • Legend of the Galactic Heroes
  • Prince of Tennis
  • Dragon Ball
  • Pokemon
  • Sailor Moon
  • Katekyo Hitman Reborn!
  • Dragon Ball Z
  • Gintama

See you next time (^_^)/

My other post on Mobile Suit Gundam: 0079: Mobile Suit Gundam: 0079, episode 1.

Here is what all this thing is about: “Take a peek”. New series here.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr.

Leave a Reply

