Fullmetal Alchemist, half way through

I watched first 25 episodes of FMA and I want to write some of what I think about the series now, while I haven’t gone further.

First, this is the best anime about war that I have seen. Sure, I haven’t seen many anime that deal with war, but still. I wonder if there is an anime that beats FMA in this aspect.

Second, the more I watch Full Metal Alchemist, the more I got the feeling that this anime is more than it gives away at the first glance. Sure, it deals with suffering, death, loyalty and friendship, as many other anime do. But here is something else. In the first series they insisted on showing us over and over how a man, who has been given freedom, can fall. There were those people whom alchemy gave the chance to change the world around them, and they fell, one by one into the darkness. Lust for power, beauty, knowledge, all that lead those people to destroy their lives and the lives of those around them.

Full metal alchemist Roy

But then, there are state alchemists. Most of them are sane and essentially good people. They really try to protect peace. But what is their job? To destroy people, who are a threat to the system. It is a military society, a dictatorship, and they guard it. so what each of them can do? Try to change it from the inside? Or run away? That is why I like this anime.  There are no simple answers.

And about the plot. As I am still watching it, I may only guess what will happen. It was mentioned my Edward that there is an alchemist behind what is going on. The one who created the homunculi. From all the characters we know, there is only one who has enough power and potential to do so. The fuhrer. The last episode I watched, where Maes Hughes was killed, supported the idea that the fuhrer is behind all this.

And about the last episode. Yeah, it is scary how easily characters die in this anime. I feel sad that this guy died. He was a great character.

I hope the rest of the show is as good as the first half. See you next time (^_^)/

My other posts on FMA: 

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr.

2 thoughts on “Fullmetal Alchemist, half way through

  1. Yeah. Fullmetal Alchemist is one of the best animes out there. It makes you think and question yourself sometimes. By the way, Fullmetal Alchemist is different from the original manga version while Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood is based on the manga.

Leave a Reply

