Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan), episode 12.

I think we all hoped that this episode will be more action packed than the last one. I think we should have put it a bit different. It would have been nice if the episode had some more plot development. And Action that would be necessary to make it happen. Instead we got standard titan fighting sort of action, and I don’t think anyone was too excited about it.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) episode 12

And I forgot to mention that the first half of the episode was all talk. Again.

I should say that I don’t mind talking in anime. Death Note is one of my favourite anime and there is so much talking there. But there it made sense and was needed for the plot. In AOT talk it is different.

They try desperately to make a picture of despair and horror, to make it all dark and make you feel how awful it all it. They fail. Normal people behave like idiots here, which does not necessarily make you immediately feel bad for them. On the contrary. If you want people to feel the darkness of the story, you should make it so we can relate to the characters who are suffering, you should make us like characters before killing them. Otherwise, the best you can do is gross us out, or just hope that some of the people will be impressed just by seeing all those deaths.

And coming back to the excessive amount of dialogs, it would have been ok if each line had been bringing something new to the story. Some new idea, or some new point of view, or if it would just help to develop one of the characters, reveal his personality. But what we have here is repetitive lines about humanity having to hope and people doubting Eren’s value. And also, when I see “elite of the elite” discussing the orders, that is just ridiculous.

What else was there?

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) episode 12 Armin cutting Eren

Armin performed precise and accurate surgery using his butcher sword.

Armin is doing crazy stuff in this show.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) episode 12 Eren inside the titan

By the way, Eren doesn’t look too healfy there. Look at his eyes.

When Eren was inside the titan and was not able to control it, he was hallucinating. I wonder if that means that all the people inside titans are in that same stage? Would be strange. But at any rate, one thing is becoming more and more clear. Titans really do react on Eren as on a human, even in his titan form. So Eren version of a titan is different of the others on some deep level.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) episode 12 Eren

By the end of the episode Eren seemed to got hold of himself.

From the preview it seems that in the next episode Eren will be able to move that bolder. Probably something will happen again, though. Like the armored titan. They should hurry up with this city, it really takes too much time.

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) episode 12 Jean

And while Eren is doing nothing Jean becomes a hero

This show needs to do something to get back the tension and the interest of the fans. Maybe we will see something of the  sort next time. See you then (^_^)/

My recent posts on Shingeki no Kyojin:

All my posts on Shingeki no Kyojin – here.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr.

5 thoughts on “Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan), episode 12.

  1. I think Armin is the only character getting quality character development. This new side of him is really impressive and I’m so glad he’s maturing. I agree with you on the redundancy of dialogue in AOT right now.

    It was a lot more bearable for me in this episode than last week though. And I actually didn’t mind the usual titan fights either. Even though something new would be nice, I guess they’re just doing this until they get into the second half of the series.

    • Well, if he gets a realistic development I will be happy. Problem is that so far he was weak and unsure of himself, and now he acted recklessly and without second thoughts, which is, as I see it, out of character. Hard to believe that he can change his personality in couple of hours… Though you can say that he just gone beyond his limits with all the tention of the last hours. But that would mean that he might break down any moment.

      I really want to see that second half =)

      • Well some persons can change their entire attitude based on whatever circumstance; so I think it’s realistic to an extent. I just hope he continues on this path because it’d be disappointing to see Armin retract into his previous self. So I really hope he doesn’t.
        I’m a bit worried about Jean.

        Right! I’m eager for it to get here.

        • Yeah, if he goes on with his personal progress, that would be good. I am sure Jean will be fine, he becomes quite an important character, he won’t die just to some low class titans =)

          • I know but I can’t help worrying since there are two titans cornering him ;_; I’ve become a little attached to him :3
            I know he’ll be okay though…*crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

