Cowboy Bebop Session XX: Mish-Mash Blues

To my knowledge, there are 4 different  Cowboy Bebop animations. The TV series, the movie ‘Cowboy Bebop: Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door’, a short special ‘Ein’s Summer Vacation’ and last a recap episode ‘Mish-Mash Blues’. Today I finally decided to watch it, and so I did.

Cowboy Bebop Session XX Mish-Mash Blues

First of all, this is not exactly a recap episode. It is kind of a terminator episode, that was used to end a 13 episodes long version of TV series that was broadcast by TV Tokyo. All the footage is reused, though, so in that sense you can say that it is a recap. But, unlike normal recaps, in this episode they talk about things that have little to do with the actual events from the series.

What do they talk about then? Let me give you one of Jet’s lines:

The greatest respect that a writer can give his readers is not to write anything that they expect.

That line is good enough to justify watching the episode. I like the idea, but that is not all there is to it. This line describes the problems that the TV show has. It is a bit predictable. The show does not surprise you, at least if you have read a dozen of sci-fi books before watching the series. And that is why I love that they put this line into the recap episode, it gives me hope that the writer understood the weak points of the show. I like Cowboy Bebop, but it needs more fair criticism and less “this is the greatest anime ever made!” stuff.

Cowboy Bebop Session XX Mish-Mash Blues

And let me give you one more good quote:

Whether it’s a human work, or a natural work, what we have to pay special attention to is its original intent.

If you wish to correct me or something of the sort, let’s get on with it in the comments. I’m waiting for you (^_^)/

My other posts on Cowboy Bebop:

Here is the list of all my Cowboy Bebop posts – link.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of my posts, click here.

2 thoughts on “Cowboy Bebop Session XX: Mish-Mash Blues

Leave a Reply

