Metropolis, just a few words

Today I watched Metropolis, a movie made by Madhouse studio and directed by Rintaro. The movie was made in 2001. And I am not near to be ready to make a review on it. Mostly because I feel I won’t be able to give the movie justice if I review it before I watch some other Osamu Tezuka adaptations (even though Metropolis in my personal opinion is not at all an adaptation of Osamu Tezuka’s manga with the same name).

I don’t make any sense, I am sorry. All I want to tell you is this. Look at the screenshots made from this movie, and check out the art style.

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

In the first row you can see the main characters

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

The man with a greenish face is a robot

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Robots firefighters

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Also one of the main characters

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

Metropolis Rintaro's movie

President (on the left) and his right/left hand man

I can’t show you the animation, but it is also great. In fact, you can say that this show has a better one than Akira, which is famous for its animation. By the way, one of the guys who worked on the animation for this movie is Yoshiaki Kawajiri. I mentioned him before a few times (here – 1, 2).

That is it. Just look how different anime can look like. See you next time (^_^)/

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

Leave a Reply

