Sailor Moon, episodes 1 and 2

Also known as Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon

From time to time I do check out long-running series. Sailor Moon is the current one I’m looking at. I don’t know how about world-wide but in my country it sure had a reputation of being a girly anime. So even if it was aired on TV when I was going to school, I never bothered to check out. And I think I missed a lot. It just shows how bad it is to be prejudiced. I am pretty sure I would have liked the show if I gave it a chance back then.

Sailor Moon episode 1

I love scenes like that ^.^

And that is not to say that I don’t like it now. I do. And that is kinda what I want to talk about here.

Originally I decided to watch Sailor Moon because it is so crazy popular. And I have an idea that something that is very popular has good chances of being good. Not to mention that it is one of the most influential series in anime history. I don’t think it was the first magical girl (mahou shoujo if you will) show, but it definitely was the one that made the idea well known across the world. When you think about a mahou shoujo show, you think about Sailor Moon, am I right? That is what I mean.

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

The protagonist, Usagi Tsukino, after failing an exam

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Usagi Tsukino is going to go shopping

But I was not sure if I am going to like the anime. I saw all that art with the girls in revealing outfits doing poses, and I thought that this anime is going to be about a bunch of girls who look nothing like fighters and yet they will demolish every single enemy while keeping high and mighty attitude. And though I had hope it would turn out good, I wasn’t at all sure.

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Usagi’s Sailor Moon outfit

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Usagi’s reaction on her new outfit =)

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Yeah

Well glad my worries were not confirmed from the start. In fact the beginning of the show was the exact opposite. The protagonist – girl named Usagi Tsukino – is far from acting high and mighty. She is, as she describes herself is “lazy and a bit of a cry baby”. She does pretty poor job with her studies, loves shopping, playing video games and pretty looking boys. That is as far from a “superhero” as you can get, doesn’t it? Well, no, in fact it seems that a lot of “superheros” tend to be pretty ordinary in their everyday life. But anyway, it was pretty interesting to watch.

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Usagi during her first fight

Sailor Moon episode 1 Usagi Tsukino

Aha

So far Usagi makes very little progress in becoming a mighty worrier. I enjoy the everyday activity part of the show more than the fighting. That is the thing that worries me, I think later on there will be more of the fighting and less of  slice of life, and I am afraid that the show might lose it’s charm for me. Hope it won’t.

Sailor Moon episode 1 Mamoru

That guy tend to save Usagi. And he looks kinda ridiculous. Though it is more funny than stupid.

So, so far I like the show and I’ll watch three more episodes before going to the next anime in my list. See you next time (^_^)/

Here is what all this thing is about: “Take a peek”

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

4 thoughts on “Sailor Moon, episodes 1 and 2

  1. Whoa! You weren’t the only prejudiced person :O This anime has never been in my ‘to watch’ list because I thought it would probably be girly (_ _)

    I am going to watch this anime now :P After I complete watching One Piece, that is @.@

Leave a Reply

