JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure (2012), first episode

Before I go into details I wanna say that before watching 2012 series I have seen the OVAs (which are sequels), so I know some of what is going to happen and I will probably spoil it for you, so be prepared.

So watching the first episode of this series was pretty awesome. I wanna give you a brief-brief synopsis of the episode, in case you haven’t seen it but are still willing to read this potentially full of spoilers article. The episode tells us a story of two young man, boys more or less. They live different lives, one is a son of a rich person, chivalrous and nice, hot blooded yet kind. His name is Jonathan Joestar. Another one is a son of a crook, and so far he was leading a life of misery and poverty. His name is Dio. But it so happened that the Jonathan’s father owed the Dio’s father a debt. And as a repayment  he took Dio into his house.

Jojo 2012 episode 1 Jonathan Joestar

Jonathan Joestar

So what Dio does? He tries to destroy Jonathan’s life, so that one day he, Dio, can inherit the wealth of the Joestars. He doesn’t try to kill Jonathan though. Rather he is trying to humiliate him, make others laugh at him, make him unhappy. Dio goes to great lengths while doing that. He beats him, spreads false rumors about Jonathan, kills his dog, harasses his girlfriend.

Jojo 2012 episode 1 Dio

Dio getting abused by random drunkards

And all that is shown in the first episode. You can tell that the show is going to be intense. I don’t know how much I wanna spoil, but let me say this. Dio is an antagonist in the JoJo OVAs, and there he seemed to be more of a demon than a man. So it is not a happy-end power-of-friendship type of story. Actually, because I have only seen Dio as an adult I was surprised to see him as a kid, being abused by people whom he had to deal with if he wanted to at least get food and such.

Jojo 2012 episode 1 Jonathan and Dio

Dio is a much better fighter than Jonathan

Jojo 2012 episode 1 Dio

Just wanted to put this picture there ^^’

That this story is quite interesting in a sense that even if you don’t like those depressing stories about human relations, you may still enjoy watching this one. Because it is a JoJo series, and JoJo is never boring. I told you how much happened in the first episode, right? I forgot to mention that there was also a time skip and by the end of the episode Jonathan even managed to win a fight with Dio. This anime is just packed with events, and yet it doesn’t feel rushed. Though if you don’t like seeing people punch each other, well, maybe you should avoid this anime.

I am looking forward to the second episode of this anime. By the way, I think in the end, I didn’t spoil anything major from the OVA, how nice of me ^.^ Till the next time, see you (^_^)/

My other posts about JoJo – list.

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

5 thoughts on “JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure (2012), first episode

Leave a Reply

