Thoughts on Fullmetal Alchemist

I have finished this series. It has been rather long since I started, about a year I believe. Last February I remember thinking that this is a pretty good anime. Not without a drawbacks, but still pretty well done. My perception of the series changed a few times since then. And now I’d like to talk about it. It is not a review, so there will be spoilers in all shapes and forms here. Be careful when reading.

Fullmetal Alchemist Mustang

And be careful looking at pictures too :P

From the very beginning the one thing I was not comfortable about was the alchemy. They try their hardest to impress on us this Law of equivalent exchange, something that seems to be a conservation of mass law. And while that is good and way better than most shonen shows ever cared to impose on themselves, I was thinking about another law we all now. Conservation of energy. To make things happen you need energy. And I was thinking “Okay, as long as they keep their alchemy low-scale it is probably okay; still this thing disrupts the universe here”. What I mean is – there doesn’t seem to be any reason why all the people won’t use alchemy all the time, since it is basically a free source of energy and power.

Fullmetal Alchemist Riza Hawkeye

On the side note, did you know that she is supposedly voiced by the same actress who played Luffy from OP and Erza from Fairy Tail?

 

Then the attention was shifted towards “the military” and “the sate”. That was really interesting to watch. Realistic portrait of bureaucracy and somewhat realistic portrait of war, both were a treat. Yet again, the question rises. Why? Why military controls the state, what goals/ideas this society has, who are the ones in control? All that was kinda vague.

Fullmetal Alchemist Dante

Another side note – I love how rich the range of facial expressions is in this show.

Fullmetal Alchemist Dante pic 2

Just look at this string of images from one single scene.

Fullmetal Alchemist Dante pic 3

And then there came those homunculus, and I thought it was sending the show down the hill. Because they were way out of the world, and the lack of reaction on their existence from the officials seemed very strange.

And that was going till the very end. Till the moment I saw Hohenheim of Light and heard his story. That changed the whole thing. Now the story turned into en end of a centuries long legend, started by Hohenheim and Dante. Those people, by creating a philosopher stone, gained such a terrifying power that their lives became the pivot for the whole world to rotate around. That took care of most of the problems I listed above, except the first one.

Fullmetal Alchemist Hohenheim of Light

That is one of the best scenes in the series. I re-watched the start of that episode (43rd) three times in a row I think =)

Fullmetal Alchemist Hohenheim of Light pic 2

Come to think of it, don’t you think Hohenheim is a man you would think deserves to be hated? Not only he is responsible for countless deaths, but also he doesn’t seem to be too much bothered by it and he still enjoys his life. On the other hand he doesn’t inspire negative feelings at all, at least from me. Strange.

And this first issue was kind of dealt with two. This thing with there being two worlds, one feeding another, that was pretty good. Reminds me of a novel called “His Dark Materials”. And I liked that they were consistent to the minor details, like that they made it clear that automail doesn’t work in our world. Also it was interesting how they made Al follow the same exact pass that lead to so many disasters already. Trying to bring Edward back, that could it lead to if not to a yet another attempt to study philosopher stone.

Fullmetal Alchemist Edward

Talking about this scene, Einstein’s theory is not what you need to be able to say what is in the outer space. At least go back to Galileo Galilei :P

All in all it was a really good anime. There is so much more I can say about it,but I don’t want to make this post too long. Maybe some other time. Till then, see you (^_^)/

My other posts on FMA: 

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

13 thoughts on “Thoughts on Fullmetal Alchemist

  1. FMA is such a great show! I love it so much. I’ve also watched Brotherhood, but it’s not as good, sadly.

    You should also watch FMA: Conqueror of Shamballa! A lot of people forget about it, but it’s the movie that wraps up the series!

    • I thought everyone liked Brotherhood better O.o I haven’t seen it yet, so I can’t say anything. About the movie, I am a little bit afraid to watch it, cause I like the ending of the TV series a lot, and I am a little bit afraid they’d ruin it. Hope not, but still.

      • I know quite a lot of people that think 2003 is better than brotherhood. Even one or two that don’t like it at all.

        Hmm. I can see why you’d be scared of that. There are some people that didn’t like it and just pretend it doesn’t exist.

      • Hi there (sorry to butt in!) the movie was created to tie-up the ending of the anime and is meant to complete the series (at least that’s my understanding of it).

        As for Brotherhood, I’m one of the fans who preferred it more than the original :P I found it to be better written and far more interesting, with a lot less of the flaws than the 2003 anime.

        Having said that, you should give it a watch and let us know what you think :)

        • Yeah I guess, and that is the reason why I am a little worried. You see, when I finished the series I was like “yeah, that is a good end”. I didn’t see any need for a continuation or a wrap up. But of course now that I know about this movie I am curious and I’ll probably watch it =)

          Aren’t the two almost the same up to the very ending? They are supposed to be adaptations of the same manga, so I expected the main difference to be animation, art style and camera work and such, but not writing.

          • The 2003 anime was made very early on during the manga’s run, so the two shows are only the same in the beginning. (though even in the beginning there are some obvious differences). When there wereplans for an anime adaptation Arakawa asked the staff to make it their own story with its own ending.
            Around episode 15 in brotherhood it’ll be mostly the same, but after that it follows the manga mostly faithfully.

            • Ah, okay. It is good news I guess, it would have been kinda boring if the two series were mostly the same. Also I’d say Arakawa made a good choice giving the script writers so much freedom with the plot development of the series.

              • Ah, I watched the movie for the 2003 anime to be less than satisfactory, but one of my friends who enjoyed the ending also liked the movie, but personal tastes are different :)

                As the other poster has said, the 2003 series was written to be different to the manga at the request of the mangaka, but Brotherhood is the manga. There are a lot of similarities in the plot (i.e. both concern the country being manipulated by a person/set of people), but a lot of the ideas are very, very different, particularly concerning the homunculus.

              • I will, I will :P But I’ll definitely put some time between it and the original series. It would be hard to beat the original season though ^^

              • I don’t think Brotherhood can beat FMA. They both looked equally good to me. Usually when the anime makers ignore the manga plot, it ends up becoming a mess. FMA is different. It looked complete. Brotherhood is also good. FMA and FMAB are like two different stories that start at the same point and end at two different points.And they both do justice to the story. That is a good enough reason to watch FMAB :P

              • So you were okay with Edward ending up in another dimension and Alphonse seemingly starting the Philosopher stone search all over again? =)

Leave a Reply

