Katekyo Hitman Reborn! – first episode reaction

Long time ago I decided to go through a list of good yet lengthy anime series and watch a few episodes of each. I have to admit I was terrible at executing the plan. Good thing I never put a deadline for that project :P So today I write about yet another anime from that list – Katekyo Hitman Reborn!

Katekyo Hitman Reborn! episode 1 pic2

I like the art. It is sort of a mixture of older hand drawn style with modern digital look ^^ It is very simplistic though, especially backgrounds.

I decided to write about it after watching only one episode, can’t quite put into words why. Maybe you’ll figure it out as you continue reading. So KHR is a ~200 episodes long series about a normal high school boy (the name is Tsunayoshi Sawada) who suddenly gets involved with mafia. That is what I know so far. Sawada is not particularly good at anything, no talents, not very smart, shy around girls, but quite a good sensible person. So far sounds more than a little generic. Well, to make it different we have a humanoid called Reborn, who is basically a gigantic head attached to a child body. He claims to be a hitman, and proceeds to shoot Sawada in the head with a magical bullet.

Katekyo Hitman Reborn! episode 1 pic1

Sawada and Reborn

 

Well, if the show were taking itself seriously, if I was expected to see all this as a premise to some real action, I would have dropped it right there. But thankfully so far I am convinced that the show is a comedy and I don’t need to think about what is going on. That is the reason why I was able to get through the episode with a good feeling. I even get to like this Reborn being, just a tad.

Katekyo Hitman Reborn! episode 1 pic3

Never do competitive sword fighting without head protection! Hope the fate of this guy will teach you the lesson :P

Now the question is, how many episodes can this anime last without falling into abyss? =) I am sure sooner or later they will start usual shonen thing with fighting stronger and stronger guys, and they will probably try to bring some drama into the story too. Would it work? First episode of Hitman Reborn is an okay comedy, but wouldn’t it be ruined when they start to get serious? I wonder. In fact I am afraid to even watch the next episode for that reason. I will try it though, and hopefully I’ll write about it sooner or later.

Katekyo Hitman Reborn! episode 1 pic4

You can’t take this seriously, right?

Also if you are wondering about why I didn’t finish my Sailor Moon impressions, there are two reasons. First – I am watching the new adaptation, and I don’t want to spoil the plot, second – I realized that what I have been watching was a weird mix of US remaster and Japanese release, so I have no idea in what order I should see it and such… so for now I’ve put the original TV show on halt.

That is it, see you next time (^_^)/

Here is what all this thing is about: “Take a peek”

To be the first one to see the newest posts, follow me on Twitter or tumblr. To see the catalog of the posts published in this blog click here.

3 thoughts on “Katekyo Hitman Reborn! – first episode reaction

  1. Reborn is human :P
    Don’t worry. The series will only get better. It won’t disappoint you =) But first you’ll have to suffer through almost 20 episodes.

Leave a Reply

