The Pale Horse

Before I begin, let me admit that I didn’t know anything about the Book of Revelation and the four horse men. I had no idea that The Pale Horse is the horse ridden by Death. I thought the manhwa’s title looked kind of boring. I was like “Maybe it is a story about a horse that looked pale or something.” So my first impression on this manhwa wasn’t all that good.

The story looked bright and sunny at the beginning. The protagonist Rose Dupre is a twelve year old who is the prettiest girl in her village. The villagers bully her because they thought her mother was a witch. Her only friend was Pierre Grand who always stood up for her. It looked like the story of a typical pretty damsel in distress who needed to be protected. I thought the story was going to be about Rose making friends and proving to the villagers what a good person she was. I felt like dropping it but kept on reading since they had all this talk about a witch and I thought the witch might make things more interesting at some point. You could imagine my surprise as I watched this seemingly bright story spiral into a dark and twisted tale.

1

Rose Dupre

It is hard to write about all the good things about this manhwa without spoiling the story. What I liked most is how they portrayed immortality. The witch is immortal and we see what it did to her. Being immortal is no joke. Most of the anime and manga show immortal protagonists as people who are just sad about losing everything they hold dear. The Pale Horse says that immortality is something that slowly makes you lose your sanity and it felt more real. Imagine living for a couple of hundred years and watching all your family and friends die one after another. Yes, you will be sad and depressed. Now imagine living for a million years where everyone you once held dear were nothing but a fading memory. You watch people being born and dying on a daily basis that at some point you just won’t care anymore. You won’t feel sad. You would just feel tired of it all. We see the witch who was cursed with immortality try to destroy everything someone else had because she couldn’t have them. She was just jealous and bitter. And then she saw all the lives she had destroyed and all the people she had hurt and felt awful. She was jealous of them and yet she couldn’t bear the burden of destroying them. When the villagers tried to kill her, she was so tired of everything that she didn’t even fight back. She just stood while they tried to kill her but she couldn’t die. It was sad, watching a person who wished for death so desperately but still couldn’t die. It didn’t mean she was a good person by the way. She is spoiled and cocky and always puts herself first.

002

This manhwa has amazing art.

The other good thing about this manhwa is that all the characters are flawed in one way or another. After watching all the anime with good protagonists, it is a nice change. After all people aren’t perfect. This manhwa deals with a lot of delicate issues like identity crisis, love, revenge and jealousy. It shows how people will cling to anything, even something that they know will destroy them, if they didn’t have anything else to hold onto. It shows how you can love someone up to a certain point and then hate them for the rest of your life because they did something really awful to you, something you could never forgive them for. This manhwa will mess up your sense of right and wrong because you wouldn’t want the witch or the hunters to die.

035 (2)

It has interesting dialogue too. This is one of my favorites parts.

005 (3)

Here is another interesting argument.

The character I found most interesting is Baron Guiness. It is hard to say anything about him without spoiling the story. I guess he is the guy who is sort of the antagonist of this story. I say sort of because he has his reasons for what he does and I like his character.

2

I like how his face can change from looking nice to cruel almost instantly.

All the chapters are in full color and the art is really good. I like the way the manhwa-ka uses colors. 019

If you feel like reading a good psychological manhwa with a deep story, read The Pale Horse. I highly recommend it. The only bad thing about this manhwa is that it is licensed. Only 63 chapters are out and it might take a long time before they release the next chapter. If you don’t like how the story leaves you hanging, just read the first 33 chapters and drop the manhwa. The first 33 chapters cover the most interesting part of the manhwa and the 33rd chapter gives you a kind of closure, you feel like  you have seen a bright and interesting chapter from a person’s life end and dropping it at that point won’t feel weird.

See you next time ^^/

6 thoughts on “The Pale Horse

  1. I love the cover art you chose ^^b It just instantly made me interested in reading :D Pictures from that comic look great, they remind me of some of the good works by aspiring artists I saw on DeviantArt back when I was hanging out there.

    Seems like a very promising manga =) Would be very interesting to see how the story deals with all that, that you mentioned. I can tell it isn’t going to be linear, centered around just one character, that is good =)

    I don’t think you need to know about Book of Revelation to get the reference xP Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, they are everywhere in the media =) One of the Terry Pratchett books I read had them among the main characters (it was a comedy though, so, Famine, for example, was an author of a popular diet book ^^)

    • Actually I wanted to use this image https://sindarfrom.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/0023.jpg?w=1008 but it wasn’t big enough. The cover art I chose wasn’t big enough either. I resized it and made it a bit blurred T.T I kinda like Baron. I guess I have a tendency to like the antagonist characters ^^’

      Yes. It isn’t linear. There isn’t even a protagonist in this manhwa. The story just follows the character whose life looks most interesting at that point.

      I haven’t seen many references to the Book of Revelation T_T The only book I read that had something to do with the Book of Revelation was ‘Revelation’ by C.J.Sansom and ti didn’t say anything about the four horsemen ._.

Leave a Reply

