Gintama.(The Battle on Rakuyo) Episode 2

The second episode turned out to be another serious episode. I do love the action but I miss the good old Gintama humor.

It looks like what I was hoping for in my last review might come true. Katsura, Sakamoto and Gintoki have joined hands to save Takasugi. Katsura for once seems to be serious about the fight. I hope we get to see him in action. We haven’t actually seen Katsura or Sakamoto at their full power yet and I am looking forward to it.

Kagura is going with the Kiheitai members to save Kamui. There is no real reason for her to do that. Gintoki and Shinpachi will go find Kamui or Umibozu anyway. So why not just go with them instead of asking the Kiheitai members to take her with them? They could hurt her or use her as a hostage and she knows that too. On the other hand, the Kiheitai members know how strong Kagura is. So they will think twice about trying to start a fight with her.

gintama-ep-2-mp4_000406549

I also felt a bit sad about how Sadaharu got left behind. He is big and powerful and won’t get in their way during a fight. If anything he would lend them a hand and take down a couple of enemies. So why not just take the poor guy with them?

gintama-ep-2-mp4_000330713

Kamui and Umibozu didn’t get to fight after all. I wanted to see them fight. Umibozu did beat Kamui before but it was a long time ago and Kamui was just a kid back then. I wonder who will win if they fought for real now. I am also a bit disappointed in Umibozu since it looks like he is completely okay with killing Kamui knowing very well that it will destroy the relationship he has with Kagura. Also like I said before, Kamui is probably more humane than he appears to be and Umibozu should know that as well.

We also learned that Sakamoto is the guy who saved the Kiheitai members while Abuto managed to save Takasugi. We still don’t know what happened to Kamui after that explosion. To me the most surprising part of the episode is this.

gintama-ep-2-mp4_000783136

I didn’t know that Sakamoto had a proper title like Gintoki, Katsura and Takasugi. I really thought people just called him ‘The Loud One.’ It would have been more interesting that way.

gintama-ep-2-mp4_001010318

I wonder if Sakamoto can actually make Takasugi turn back into the person he used to be

It was fun watching Gintoki, Katsura and Sakamoto walking all over Nobu Nobu. The guy had it coming but I expected it to be a big showdown that will take over 5 episodes but they managed to defeat him in less than 5 minutes. It was amusing. They are better off killing him but I doubt they will do that. Nobu Nobu will probably manage to get out of the mess and go back to being shogun. I don’t want to see that and it will probably make things more difficult for Gintoki.

gintama-ep-2-mp4_001131037

I love this scene

We finally learned what Rakuyo is in this episode. It is Kagura’s home planet. Abuto and the rest of their gang took refuge in Rakuyo and ironically enough, they ran into Umibozu there. I doubt Umibozu will want to fight Abuto or kill Takasugi but there is no telling what the guy would do. I am looking forward to the next episode.

See you next time ^^/

Other posts on Gintama:

Gintama.(The Battle on Rakuyo) Episode 1

Leave a Reply

